Roger C. Vogel

Professor Emerit­­­­us of ­­Music

University of Georgia

Hodgson School of Music

Athens, GA 30602-7287
Tel: (706) 549-3532



A native of Cleveland, Ohio, Roger Vogel studied music theory and composition at the Ohio State University and earned the Ph. D. in 1975. His major professors were Marshall Barnes, Jay Huff, Norman Phelps, and Wolf Rosenberg. His dissertation was an English translation and commentary on the works of Domingo Marcos Durán.


A productive composer, Dr. Vogel has over 160 compositions and several journal articles to his credit. Since he joined the faculty of the University of Georgia in 1976, Dr. Vogel has written over 120 original works that have been published    by twelve different publishing firms. Notable among his awards are prizes from the Roger Wagner Choral Composition Competition, the National Saxophone Workshop Composition Contest, the National Flute Association, the Penfield/Wegmans Composition Contest Commissioning Project, and the Delius Composition Competition. In 2011 Dr. Vogel was the recipient of the University of Georgia Albert Christ-Janer Creative Research Award. He has received commissions from the Georgia Music Teachers Association, the University of Georgia, Sigma Alpha Iota Professional Women's Music Fraternity, Phi Mu Alpha Professional Men's Music Fraternity, the Helios Duo, The Fellowship of Reason®, Odekhiren Amaize, the Athens Master Chorale, the Medical College of Georgia, Georgia 'Cello Society, the Chattanooga Clarinet Choir, and the Bass Club of Georgia. His works have been performed in recitals, and at conventions and festivals, throughout the United States, Canada, South America, Asia, and Europe.

Dr. Vogel would like to hear of performances of his works and will assist in the preparation of his music. Recordings of most of his compositions are available on YouTube, and he is happy to answer any questions and to facilitate the acquisition of his works.

Text Box:  Contact Roger C. Vogel

For Further Information Choose from the Following:




Instrumental Chamber Music






Chamber Music with Voice:




Voice and Piano: 




Arrangements and Transcriptions:



Selected Reviews


YouTube Channel





The Musical Writings of Domingo Marcos Durán (c. 1465-1529) in English

Translated by Roger C. Vogel


Related Pages:

Sigma Alpha Iota Composers Bureau

Southeastern Composers League

Broadcast Music Incorporated


Marquis Who's Who